Flapjacks

DSCN2237

Finally I have some free time between exams to do some baking and it feels incredibly refreshing. I feel like my revision stress is slowly going away especially with the help of these flapjacks.

 

DSCN2228

 

Like most of the recipes on this blog, flapjacks is a quick and easy snack you can make between exam revision or just if you want a lovely chewy snack. For a while now I have been super busy with school work, tests and revision that having a little snack can brighten your day. So I was thinking of starting a series, for the first time on this blog. This series will incorporate several recipes that you can make during exams or when school gets really stressful and you want a short and sweet break. I understand that these recipes will have to be much healthier than what I already post and be quick and easy so that you can make it between revision breaks or in your free time. If I do go ahead, I will probably start in a few weeks. What do you guys think? Leave a comment below if you would enjoy this series!

 

DSCN2236

 

On to the flapjacks now! I adapted the recipe from BBC Good Food which had a 5 star rating so I knew that this recipe had to be great. The recipe says to use porridge oats, however I opted for oatmeal instead. I didn’t mix all the ingredients at the same time as I didnt want the oatmeal to lose its texture and become quite powdery. I also made only half of the original recipe as I felt that the quantity would be enough for me. I got around 8 pieces of flapjacks as you can see in the image below. You can also add some raisins or dark chocolate to enhance the flavour of the flapjacks and have a small twist in the flavour.

DSCN2225

Previously I used a different recipe and for some reason the flapjacks would become so hard that they would be nearly impossible to eat! I never understood why this happenned? Fortunately this recipe hardens only slightly and melt in your mouth when they just come out of the oven. Its currently winter here in Mauritius and I know this is a great snack you can prepare for breakfast or even on those chilly evenings, not that it gets too cold over here 😛

DSCN2233

This recipe was adapted from: (click to go straight to the original recipe) – Yummy Golden Syrup Flapjacks

Flapjacks:

Ingredients:

  • 125 g oatmeal/ white oats
  • 60g salted butter
  • 60g brown sugar
  • 2 tbsps golden syrup

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celcius
  2. In the food processor, mix the butter, sugar and golden syrup until combined
  3. Add the oatmeal to the mixture and mix 
  4. Cut greasing paper and line the baking tray
  5. Pour the mixture onto tray and flatten for a smooth finish
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden.
  7. Remove to cool and cut into individual servings

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Love The Cake Architect 🙂

6 thoughts on “Flapjacks

Leave a Reply

