Raita

 

DSCN2255

Though this may not be a baked good, it is one of the best side dishes you will need when making curry and is in my opinion a necessity in Indian cuisine.

DSCN2256

During the weekend I went to an Indian restaurant and had an amazing raita which I knew I have to recreate but adding my own touch to it. We typically make a yoghurt sauce to accompany dishes like chicken tikka masala, biryani, “kalia” which is a Mauritian chicken curry dish famous for its incredible flavour and just regular curry.

DSCN2257

If you didn’t already know this I can’t cook and I’ve finally decided to learn how to because I only know how to boil some pasta or cook a fried egg. I also know how to make “Mine Apollo” which is the best instant noodles there is in Mauritius if that counts?

So making a raita is the beginning of my cooking journey. I remember a couple of years ago I decided to try a unique twist on fried rice and in the end there was no flavour just a plate full of rice. I figured that cooking was too difficult for me and decided to stick with baking since then. Though I knew at one point I would have to learn how to cook and I guess the time has come.

DSCN2259

Don’t worry there will still be loads of bakes on the cake architect and perhaps the odd savoury dish here and there.

Next weeks recipe will be eclairs 😉

Raita

Ingredients:

  • 2 Onions (finely chopped)
  • 1/4 Cucumber (finely chopped)
  • A few mint leaves
  • 100 ml natural yoghurt
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of spice

Utensils:

  • Chopping Board
  • Measuring cup
  • Bowl
  • Spoon

Method:

  1. Finely chop the onions and cucumber into little squares and place in the bowl
  2. Finely chop some mint leaves and add 3/4 to the bowl. (The remaining will be used to garnish the raita)
  3. Measure the yoghurt and add to the mixture
  4. Add the salt and spice
  5. Mix until combined

Serve and enjoy

– The Cake Architect

Leave a Reply

