Pepperoni Pizza or Pizza Cake?!?

One of my favourite Youtube Channels is Yolanda Gampp’s How To Cake It. She makes the most realistic looking cakes ever! She has the funniest personality. Its always a joy to watch her videos. 

When I showed my best friend her channel, we decided it was only natural for us to try and recreate one of her cakes. 

It actually turned out much better than what we thought. 

I present to you our Pepperoni Pizza Cake a.k.a the sweetest looking pepperoni pizza you will ever eat.

Pizza Cake

We substituted a lot of her ingredients and instead intended to mimic Yolanda’s cake. Our lack of toppings meant that our pizza became pepperoni flavoured. And who does not like pepperoni pizza right?

Cake / Pizza Base

For the cake we used a basic vanilla cake recipe which I have been using since forever but you can also use my massepain recipeIt will work just as great.

Buttercream Icing / Tomato Sauce:

The buttercream recipe we used was this basic buttercream icing recipe which I have mentioned in a lot of previous posts. However as Yolanda used some jam we also mixed our buttercream with some strawberry jam to produce a tomato sauce resemblance. The berries in the jam looked like finely cut pieces of tomato. 

For some reason I could not find red food colouring and had to use this crimson pink instead. 

White Chocolate / Cheese

We grated white chocolate for the cheese all over the buttercream icing. It looked exactly like real mozzarella cheese!

Cake Decoration / Pepperoni 

For pepperoni we used guava slices which we purchased from Food Lovers Market in the sweets section. 

Fondant: 

I used the Wilton marshmallow fondant recipeI had to use loads of icing sugar to get the correct consistency to put in the fridge over night. 

I have to admit I made a stupid mistake regarding the preparation of the fondant. I used pink marshmallows but didn’t realise that this would impact the colour of my overall fondant. That why the ‘pizza crust’ may look quite pinkish. 

Cooking torch / Making the Pizza Crust 

So I didn’t know how to use the cooking torch until after we made this cake, but I did try on a separate slice and it was a success! The fondant soon resembled a pizza crust. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos though 😦

These were all the steps taken to produce this cake. What do you think of it?

Here is the link to the original video by Yolanda Gampp:

Do you like posts like these? 

If so leave a comment below telling me your opinion cause I absolutely loved making this cake and writing this post!

– The Cake Architect

Have any suggestions for the blog? Email me: thecakearchitect@hotmail.com

Interested in following me on social media?

Facebook Page

Instagram 

Twitter

8 thoughts on “Pepperoni Pizza or Pizza Cake?!?

Leave a Reply

