Two Years Old.

2 year anniversary

Happy Birthday The Cake Architect!

Today makes two years since I nervously posted my very first blog post. It was quite tense to launch my own blog but at the same time incredibly exciting and I could not wait to begin my blogging journey!

Up until now The Cake Architect has not been much of a priority for me but I am on the way to making it a better blog. Lately I have been suffering from writers block. I haven’t been able to sit down and write a blog post as I usually do nor have I had the energy or motivation for it.  In addition my perfectionist self has not wanted to post poor content.  If you follow The Cake Architect you may have realised that I haven’t posted much during February.

However as my 2 year anniversary was drawing nearer I felt a sudden urge to get back into writing.

In all honesty I love blogging! The rush of energy from baking and cooking, the constant urge to improve my food photography each and every time, setting my camera to so many different angles, taking 50 photos but selecting only 5 to post and finally the thrill of writing a post.

I feel that I suddenly develop moments of drive and focus to work on and improve my blog while other times I just slump and don’t feel like writing. How do I maintain those impulsive moments of motivation? Could it be that I’m not inspired enough?

Throughout 2015 I unfortunately couldn’t blog as much as I wanted to. School took most of my time, that last year was definitely intense. I had made grand plans for my blog after my one-year blogging anniversary but unfortunately I could not fulfil them because of this. Its okay though, lets make 2016 our year!

On a more positive side this past month I have been learning how to cook properly for the first time. I have been discovering new exciting recipes that I can make for university and getting excited for this new step in my life. I also recently designed my header and I’m pretty happy with the outcome right now. What do you think of it? In terms of the blog posts this year I would love to branch out and try new things. I absolutely loved writing this Pizza Cake post and certainly would love to do many more like that.

I have also discovered some incredible Mauritian blogs over these last two years who produce fantastic content. It’s great to see the number of Mauritian bloggers today!

Looking back over the last year I definitely want to focus more on my blog. Now that I have finished school I feel that I have the ability to accomplish my goals. As well as improving look and feel of the blog I also want to really enhance the content. While writing this post I decided to look at my one year anniversary post for some inspiration and found this:

I knew that blogging would be a journey, one with many ups and downs. You can have incredible baking moments and then the next time you bake you may feel disappointed……I realised baking was my passion when no matter how many times I failed a recipe or baked something that was not what I was too particularly happy with, I would never give up on it.”

Today I still stand by those words and can firmly say that my love for baking has certainly grown over the past year. I have learnt to appreciate the good baking days and learn from my mistakes on the difficult ones.

This post is just a Thank you to all those who like, comment and share my posts because the fact that you took your time to read and tell me what you think really means a lot to me. Thank you to those who have nominated me for blog awards, I really appreciate it. You also act as a real motivation to keep posting! 😉

I would love to hear how other bloggers deal with motivation and writer block! Let me know in the comments below.

Hope you enjoyed this long post

Here’s to another year of blogging!

Much love,

Zahra, The Cake Architect

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two Years Old.

  1. Love that you never give up. If there’s one important lesson to learn in life, it’s that one. No matter what happens, like you say, even if you baked a cake that wasn’t satisfactory, you’d still carry on. And look where you are today! 🙂 Happy 2nd birthday The Cake Architect. What cake will you have today? 😉

    1. I agree with you, it really is an important life lesson! Blogging about my baking experiences has really helped with that 🙂
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment! It made my day! 🙂
      Zahra

Leave a Reply

