Mauritius Independence Day Cake

independence day5

independence day

Tomorrow marks the 48th year of Independence here in Mauritius. I thought why not make it special by making an Independence Day Cake using my Mauritian Massepain Recipe as I deemed it only fitting to use a Mauritian recipe for this occasion.

I made one batch of the cake but divided it into 4 where I subsequently added food colouring of the 4 colours of the flag. Due to the intensity of the colour inside the cake, I decided to stick with a plain vanilla frosting topped with some M&Ms in the colours of the Mauritian flag, so that when you cut the cake the colour does not become overwhelming.

independence day6 independence day1 independence day2

To make sure the buttercream set, after each cake layer I placed the cake in the fridge for approximately 15 minutes. This is optional as you may ice the cake completely and then put it into the fridge to set. Based on my previous bakes, I have found this method to work the best due to the very hot and humid climate.

For this cake I also used a different buttercream recipe because my previous one had not worked out on the last cake that I had made. I assumed that the hot weather had an impact on the buttercream because it usually works great.

independence day4

Mauritius Independence Day Massepain Recipe:

Massepain Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 200 g Granulated Sugar
  • 1 pack of butter (227 grams)
  • 1 lb (454 g) self raising flour
  • 200ml Milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Food Colouring: Red, Blue, Yellow, Green

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 220 C

    Massepain Batter
    Step 8
  2. Grease a cake tin
  3. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  4. Add the eggs one at a time whisking continuously
  5. Gradually add the flour to the mixer
  6. When mixed thoroughly add vanilla essence and milk until incorporated.
  7. Divide the mixture into 4 bowls
  8. Add a few drops of food colouring to each bowl
  9. Bake for 15 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  10. Put in the oven for 45 mins to 1 hour.

 

Buttercream recipe:

Recipe has been adapted from: Add A Pinch – Classic Vanilla Buttercream Frosting Recipe

I followed these exact instructions and the buttercream turned out lovely.

 

Hope you enjoyed this post! I loved making this cake!

Happy Independence Day to all Mauritians 🙂

– Zahra, The Cake Architect

 

Have any suggestions for the blog?

Email me: thecakearchitect@hotmail.com

Follow me on social media:

Facebook Page

Instagram 

Twitter

Pinterest

If you are on Twitter follow me for latest blog updates and I would love if you would fill in this poll! What do you prefer Pie or Cake? I’m definitely team cake 😉

Leave a Reply

