Classic Apple Pie Recipe

Applepie3

Applepie4

I never make pie. I’m team cake all the way. However with tons of persistence from my pie-lover friend (this post is dedicated to you btw 😉 ), I decided that I should give it a go.

I thought that a Classic Apple Pie would be a great first pie to make and that it would perfectly accompany the cold winter approaching Mauritius.

Personally I have always felt likes pies and tarts were so complicated compared to baking cakes. Little did I know this could not be further from the truth, especially if you purchase the pastry ahead of time.

Applepie6


Applepie1

I prepared the short crust pastry using a recipe from BBC Good Food. From what I have read Short crust pastry is at its optimal when using a 2:1 ratio of flour to butter. I have followed this recipe several times and i’m happy with the results. The pastry was initially difficult to handle and easily crumbled but this may be because I had added too much flour.

Applepie5

Shortcrust Pastry Recipe from here: www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2983/basic-shortcrust-pastry 

  • After making the shortcrust pastry, I roll it onto some clingfilm and pop it into the fridge for a couple of hours.
  • I then remove to cool prior to making the filling (about an hour) and roll it flat on a floured surface. The pastry is then blind baked/ pre-baked for 10-15 minutes at 200 degrees celsius.

Edit: I made the same recipe once more and adjusted the ingredients to 300 grams of all-purpose flour and 150 grams of unsalted butter. I found that by adding a little more water, the pastry would come together easily

Apple Pie Filling Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius
  2. Mix all the filling ingredients together
  3. Pour the mixture into the blind baked pastry
  4. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until pastry is a golden brown colour
  5. Remove to cool

 

Applepie2

Enjoy your delicious Apple Pie. Whats your favourite pie?

– The Cake Architect

Email: thecakearchitect@hotmail.com

Social Media:

Facebook Page

Instagram 

Twitter

 

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

Leave a Reply

