Divino – Italian and Seafood Restaurant

Divino9

Divino4

A great late Sunday lunch at Divino – Italian and Seafood Restaurant.

A couple of years ago I had been to the restaurant for the first time and really enjoyed the food there, so I thought this time I could make a restaurant review out of it.

Atmosphere

We arrived at the restaurant around 3 pm, which was rather quiet and tranquil with few customers. Set under a pavilion in La Croisette, Grand Baie the restaurant emanates a calm and relaxing vibe. This time of year is perfect because as the winter sunshine peeks through you do not have to deal with the excruciating heat and humidity that comes along with a Mauritian summer. The staff were very welcoming and provided an excellent service.

Divino1

Divino13
Freshly squeezed orange juice

Appetiser – Mauritian Tapas

The restaurant offers a variety of starters including Mauritian Tapas. Rather intrigued by what Mauritian Tapas was available, we decided to order some prawn croquette as my family absolutely devours this! We are huge fans of seafood and will order some type of seafood where ever we go.

The croquettes arrived on a simple translucent plate accompanied by its la sauce l’ail (garlic sauce). Unfortunately the croquettes did not meet up with our expectations. It was slightly over fried for my liking but nevertheless had a great crunch and crispiness to it when opened. The prawn was well-cooked and tasty, it would be great if it was a little larger though.
Divino11

Main Course

For main course I ordered a Ravioli Goat Cheese. I was most excited about this part and I still am as I am typing this.

The menu had quite a variety of pastas to choose from as well as a whole page dedicated to risotto and other seafood dishes.

Initially this ravioli appeared to be a rather small serving size for someone like me who adores their pasta! However I was surprised to see how filling it was. I definitely craved for more.

The ravioli was cooked beautifully and the goat cheese filling was perfect in amount and taste.

Divino6I must emphasise on how delicious the tomato sauce was. It was cooked to perfection and complemented the ravioli beautifully. The tomato sauce was thick and full of flavour, really bringing out a fresh tomato taste. We had also ordered the Fruti De Mare pasta which was fantastic except the tomato sauce was rather sweet in comparison to the ravioli.

Divino7

If you order one of the pasta you get to choose a pasta of your choice from penne to tagliatelle. I really enjoy how the restaurant provided this choice to the customer as it really involved the customer in the process.

This Fruti Di Mare was really delicious. Although this was not my main course I did try it and the seafood was well-cooked really enhancing the dish. The only complaint I would have to say is the sweetness of the tomato sauce, which I would not have picked up if I did not have the ravioli.

Some other main courses:

Aglio Olio
Aglio Olio
Risotto with large prawns
Risotto with large prawns
Divino5
Garlic Butter Prawns

Dessert

Ah dessert. One look at the dessert section of the menu and I knew exactly what I wanted to take. This beautiful Chocolate Fondant with a gallop of vanilla (you may choose between vanilla and chocolate) was scrumptious. The delicious hot liquid chocolate oozes out of the cake mixed with some of that refreshing vanilla ice-cream was pure bliss. I highly recommend this!
Divino10

Divino2

Closing Words

I highly recommend this restaurant because not only is it set in a beautiful location under a pavilion in an open environment, but the service and quality of food is fantastic.

It has a great variety of food to choose from on the menu.

My Rating: 4/5

 

 Have you been to Divino? What were your thoughts of the restaurant?

Hope you enjoyed this review as much as I enjoyed writing it, if you do have any restaurants you want me to review do not hesitate to leave a comment below or just contact me: thecakearchitect@hotmail.com

– The Cake Architect

Email: thecakearchitect@hotmail.com

Social Media:

Pinterest

Instagram 

Twitter

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

Leave a Reply

